the official as3isolib blog

actionscript3 isometric library (v1/v2)

some updates as of 2010.02.12

The as3isolib’s usage has been growing.  Each day I see more and more forum users, questions and demos.  I have  had several companies approach me about using the as3isolib in many Facebook applications.  In my humble opinion the as3isolib is quickly becoming the library of choice for building isometric games/content in Flash.  I am happy and proud  to present a labor of love and have it welcomed and utilized by so many 🙂

With that being said I want to let you in on a few things I have planned for the near future for the as3isolib.

  • integration w/ the Push Button Engine – I was approached a while back by the guys at Push Button Labs to see about getting the PBE & as3isolib working together.  I have procrastinated WAY too much and haven’t done a thing.  But I want to get something going so that developers can leverage both libraries to create the badass content we so desire to.  If any developers out there have had experience working w/ the PBE API, I’d love to get together and get the ball rolling on this.
  • finally get started on a basic as3isolib editor AIR application – yeah, I have been really dragging my feet on this one.  Partly I didn’t want to impose a particular paradigm of content creation.  But the more I think about this, the very lack of such an editor for other products is what kept me from developing w/ their content in the first place.  I am sure this has turned a few people away from the as3isolib.  I don’t want to turn people away.  I want the as3isolib to be the biggest, baddest, isometric library out there.

    Now there are some thoughts about how to present this to the public.  Will it be open source? Will it be extendable?  Will it be free?  I can say I have worked long and hard to build the as3isolib and have given freely and openly this labor of love.  However I am thinking the editor will not be open source and in most cases it will NOT be free.  I can say that if I do decide to attach a price to the editor, it will be a very VERY affordable price.

  • possibly porting the as3isolib to SilverLight & HTML5 – the fact is that Flash is not the only rich web-based content player out there.  As much as I would prefer to hone my as3 developer skills, I must evolve.  Silverlight & HTML5 are upcoming stars that at some point, if Adobe doesn’t heed our warnings, will give the Flash Player a run for its money.  I want to evolve and as such I want the as3isolib to evolve too.  How can I achieve world domination if I don’t tackle these two technologies?
  • getting more involved w/ the community – I kinda feel like Willy Wonka here.  I created this library yet have not made a thing (aside from one unpublished game) with it.  Aside from the forum I rarely have any user interaction.  I want that to change.  I also want to foster collaboration among the community.  How do I do that?  I need your help and ideas.

And to end this post I wanted to share w/ you a video of a game you have probably seen before.  However the guys over at Blue Omega have really outdone themselves w/ pushing this out as a release candidate (I think, guys correct me if I am wrong).  Great work & great game!!!!

You can play it here – link

6 responses to “some updates as of 2010.02.12

  1. Ben Garney February 12, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    I just wanted to chime in and mention that if any devs want to step up to the plate and work on as3isolib/PBE integration, I’m available to help – I just don’t have bandwidth to lead the process. Hit me up on the pushbuttonengine.com forums.

    • jwopitz February 16, 2010 at 9:39 pm

      Hey Ben.

      I’d probably be the only main dev’r on this project who is actively dev’ing FOR the library as opposed to WITH the library. I too have availability/time issues to getting this rolling. I will be hitting the user group up to see if anybody wants to help w/ these initiatives.

      J

  2. Video Game Price February 12, 2010 at 11:54 pm

    wow, I really like this game trailer. I love games like this, I will definitley be playing this
    thanks

  3. Kyle June 16, 2010 at 11:36 pm

    HTLM5 really? It’s not even a solid spec yet. Would prefer if you could put out/update some more full featured tutorials. For example creating a map from XML would be nice. As it stands using as3isolib feels like it’s alittle bit more work then it needs to be.

  4. Wally Kolcz August 24, 2010 at 2:24 am

    I am working on a isometric virtual world for sick kids in Children’s Hospitals and needed a isometric engine. I started with FFilmation but limitation on the core and no community shifted my work to AS3IsoLib and now I am facinated (and hook) by it.

    Being a noob, I am extremely interested in the basic as3isolib editor AIR application you mentioned in your updates. Does it help build the map for an isometric game? Any ETA on this? Would love to beta it for you and get a copy so it can help build my maps of my kid project. Thanks for all the great work!

  5. Raju.pedda September 6, 2010 at 11:28 am

    can i have the source code of this game

    Thanks in advance
    Raj

Leave a Reply

