the official as3isolib blog

actionscript3 isometric library (v1/v2)

As3isolib Game: Monster Mind (Beta)

Ric over at Bossa Studios shot me a message saying that their new Facebook game Monster Mind (beta) is using the as3isolib.  Looks fun.  Kinda a new take on the classic 2D side scrolle    r Rampage? I loved that game back in the day.

13 responses to “As3isolib Game: Monster Mind (Beta)

  1. Ola October 19, 2011 at 3:05 pm

    Any news on As3IsoLib 2.0? Will it make use of Stage3D? Would be awesome if it’s possible.

    Thanks for a great library.

    • jwopitz October 19, 2011 at 4:19 pm

      it’s still under development. I do have plans to look at Stage3D but it’s low on my priority list simply because it would require learning a great deal about the APIs. I had tried to look at Starling but am awaiting a response to several questions from their dev folks.

  2. mouffles October 23, 2011 at 8:59 am

    That’s nice to read that. Thanks !

    Because i think Starling would be better than stage3d in as3isolib for now. It could increase the 2d performance (for me the very first graphical need of as3isolib with fp11), without needing a big development to inocculate 2.5d with stage3d in an isometric engine (not so usefull at first).
    Furthermore we could have the benefit of the Starling’ support and Starling’ updates… just nice.
    Bigger maps, better isoview’ performances, so nice !!

    • jwopitz October 23, 2011 at 9:42 am

      You might surprised by the performance of Starling & Stage3D vs old fashioned blitting sans special APIs. Once I get permission from my colleague, I will post a link to his findings. Like I stated earlier, if and when I can allocate time and/or resources, I will investigate further. Based on what I’ve heard thus far, I am not impressed with the performance of any of the 2D -> Stage3D libs.

      • mouffles October 23, 2011 at 11:30 am

        *falling hope* I have not been impressed by the Starling’ demo too, but I used to test flash performances on a very weak notebook (because online / casual gamers have weak computers).
        I’m looking for your news about the v2 since many months, so well, i’ll be patiently waiting for your friend’ link 😉

  3. jwopitz October 23, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    @mouffles
    Not sure I follow what you mean about the friend link? Please explain? I too test on a variety of machines once I get to a point of that sort of testing. Usually just testing the FP in Safari on my 4+ year old MBP works pretty well.

    • mouffles October 24, 2011 at 4:37 am

      Thanks, i was talking about these links.
      So yes clearly on my atom 1ghz (intel onboad graphic) the blitting give 45fps when all of the hardware ones give 4/8 fps…
      On the starling’topic people are talking about Copypixel, not sure what it is cause i’ve not follow it closely, but i must admit that i’m not very enthusiastic when i see these hardware performances. So.. Bad !

  4. jwopitz October 24, 2011 at 8:25 am

    CopyPixel referes to the BitmapData API – http://adobe.ly/rqmEKC

  5. mouffles October 25, 2011 at 3:52 am

    Thanks, i found out many things about it since i wrote this comment ( i also found the spritesheet class from masputih). The frame increasement in your examples is just terrific, and that’s a nice a way to optimize sprite’s render.
    For now i’m learning, and working with the v1, so, i hope to read about v2 soon. And i’ll be pleased to give money for the “almost” open source as3isolib v2 😉

  6. PouriyaAtaee March 16, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    Good

Leave a Reply

